Select Language

Andhra Pradesh State Disaster Response And Fire Services Department


Welcome to Fire Service Department

The Andhra Pradesh Fire service is one of the fire Brigade networks in India with 173 fire stations spread over the length and breadth of Andhra Pradesh. The activities of the department are mainly connected with fire prevention and fire extinction. It is a humanitarian service dedicated to the saving of life and property and available to public at all times.


  • During the Second World War, the Air Raid precaution Organization was established as a Civil Defence Measure. In the year 1942, this Organization was converted into the Fire Service Department with full time staff and appliances.
  • The Andhra Pradesh Fire Service Act, 1999 came into effect from 1st February, 2001.
  • The Andhra Pradesh Fire and Emergency Operations and Levy of Fee Rules, 2006 was issued in G.O. Ms.No.306, Home (Prisons. A) Department, Dated 7.12.2006 and published in A. P. Gazette No. 74, Dated 8.12.2006.
  • Vide G.O.Ms.No.328, Home (Prisons. A) Dept., 15-07-2009, the Department has been renamed as “Andhra Pradesh State Disaster Response & Fire Services Department.
  • Vide Circular Memo No.13665/SR/2014, General Admin(SR)Dept., dated: 26.05.2014 Government has issued clarificatory instructions that “ all the laws which were applicable to the undivided state of Andhra Pradesh as on 01-06-2014 would continue to apply to the new states i.e., State of Telangana and State of Andhra Pradesh created by the Central Act, w.e.f 02-06-2014”
  • The Government of India has notified the A.P. Reorganization Act, 2014, reorganizing the existing state of Andhra Pradesh into Residuary State of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The State of Residuary Andhra Pradesh has been bifurcated on the appointed day 2nd June, 2014.